Adding additional backup lights

I want to add some additional, bright lights that activate with the reverse lights. Can I just splice into the existing reverse light wiring, right near the rear of the truck. . .that way I don't have to run any wires up to an additional power source? Or would that draw too much power out of the existing lines?

And if that is okay. . .would connecting the new + wire to existing + wire and - to - wires work - without effecting the stock reverse lights? (I'm a little new to electrical wiring)

THANKS, I appreciate any help!

:chevy:

There used to be an outfit that made an off road light that had a bracket mounted on a trailer hitch that went into the receiver and plugged into the factory 7 pin plug. If I can remember where I saw it I'll post it.

I added a cheap set of 55w lamps to the rear of my Suburban within days of buying it. Stock lights are terrible and way too high. The extra lamps are mounted to the trailer hitch so I can see things at ground level as well as fill in the light spread.

Relays are the preferred way to hook these up so you don't overload the stock circuit.

But, hey I'm lazy :D and spliced them directly to the existing lights. Seems to work fine. Take out one of the rear taillights and scrape a patch of insulation of each wire going to the reverse bulb. Then wrap the new wires around the exposed conductors. Wrap with electrical tape and secure everything. Bingo - cheap, rigged lighting to go! :chevy:

618555_14_full.jpg

If you are hooking up some small lights you won't have a problem. Try to install Stadium lighting and you gotta do some wiring.

It would be easier to use the trailer feed wire than to run wires to the back of the taillights.