lp conversion

reem

Welcome to the board. :chevy:

I've heard of a local guy in my area that has a LP conversion on his 8.1.

I don't know what it consists of, but I know it is possible. This guy's family owns a propane dealer, so he gets a discount on it. I have heard from some people better mileage and some say worse mileage. I have no first hand experience. I would think that refueling may be a pain though.

One of my commercial customers (I manage a small NAPA Autocare) has brought in a couple of his trucks ('90's GM) with an alternate LP fuel control module installed. They had a large in bed tank. One was on a post '95 OBD II truck, the controller was labeled OBD II controller. I didn't pay a bunch of attention to them, at the time gas was still under $2. I can't remember the manufacturer but they do exist. I'll look for it and let you know. I was actually thinking of this same thing lately. I filled up two tanks for the travel trailer I'm taking to Louisianna and 30 gallons cost me $32. I was like, d**n I need one of those LP kits. I was at a hardware store near my house and work that's open 7 days a week. Hmmm, no problem keeping the truck full of LP here.

Some things I know about running LP fuel in a internal combustion are this. The octane is much higher but the BTU's are much lower. There's less thermal energy in LP so you use more for the same amount of work. So yes the mileage and power will be lower, but it's not enough to over ride the initial savings. You're pay (approximate figures here) 75% less per gallon for 30% less mileage. If you build an engine stricly for LP you can raise the compression ratio sky high, like 14:1 pop-ups, and regain some of the lost effeciency without detonation worries. LP burns absolutely clean, an engine that's run on LP will look shiney new when disasembled. Oil stays clean for much longer burning LP.