Bypassing Throttle Body Coolant Passage.

Hi everyone, this is my first time starting a topic. Couldn't find a thread on this.

I have a 2000 Sierra C1500 with the 5.3L. The throttle body has a coolant passage that warms up the intake air to help the engine run efficiently when it's cold, kind of like the exhaust manifold heat stove that older GM trucks had. I have heard that bypassing that passage will let the TB stay cooler meaning less heat is transferred and therefore producing a more dense air charge which helps make more power.

Has anyone tried that and tested on a dyno? Does it give a significant bump in power or does it just help waste more gas? :)

Thanks in advance for your input!

Hi everyone, this is my first time starting a topic. Couldn't find a thread on this.

I have a 2000 Sierra C1500 with the 5.3L. The throttle body has a coolant passage that warms up the intake air to help the engine run efficiently when it's cold, kind of like the exhaust manifold heat stove that older GM trucks had. I have heard that bypassing that passage will let the TB stay cooler meaning less heat is transferred and therefore producing a more dense air charge which helps make more power.

Has anyone tried that and tested on a dyno? Does it give a significant bump in power or does it just help waste more gas? :shakehead:

Thanks in advance for your input!

Where you are in CA & warmer climates it OK to do but us northerners can have icing in the winters.

Well, where I live it's gonna get up to 90 degrees for the summer so I guess I have nothing to worry about. Maybe in the winter, when it can get down to 25 degrees in the early mornings, I'll put it back on. Thanks for the input! :shakehead::lol::crackup::crackup:

Lorenzo