Fuel Injectors In A 99 5.7

distaff

I have a 99 Suburban with a 5.7 GM Target Master (stock rebuilt crate motor from GM) installed by the previous owner 25k miles ago. I am thinking about turning it into a bit of a sleeper, and looks like I can get a 383 stroker kit for under $800. I will look at doing new heads or porting and reconditioning the stock ones and putting in a cam (could use some advice on these point as well). I'll also re-program the computer. I don't think I need to worry about the bottom end as it is not going to see real hard duty.

My question is about the injectors. I have some issues with them, one seems to leak. I can replace them with stock, or I can get them cleaned, but I am reading that they are not great, and I don't seem to be able to find any obvious upgrades.

Any suggestions?

I am new to GM engines, I have a 69 Ford F100 4WD I restored and put a very nice 410 in it. I had understood that one of the advantages the GMs (especially the small blocks) had was that many more performance options were available than were avalailable for the Fords (especially the old FEs).

Kind of surprised at the lack of responses. I assume that this means that there really is no way to improve the poor fuel injection system on these L31s. I have found other discussions about using a marine intake that provides a true multiport injection without the stupid spider system.

Perhaps this is not the right forum - if I asked a question like this on the Ford-trucks forum I'd expect at least 10 posts in the first 24 hours. Is there a forum that is more focused on performance upgrades?

Do away with that goofy cpi system. You will be chasing your tail. Using the marine intake to convert to sequential is the way to go.

Also you don't get get your panties in a bunch if your post isn't answered as fast as your like. Some folks may only read the board once a week. Besides the ford people have lots of time to read boards like this because their trucks are in the shop.