First post!

This truck has some electrical issues. I made modifications when I drove it some 15 years ago, and so have others. Electrical doesn't scare me at all. However anything in the dash of this truck does. It's old, it's brittle, and I just can't start tearing it all apart without a plan.

With that said, if anyone can help out with wiring diagrams, pictures, advice, or any kind of knowledge, it would be very helpful.

So the problems. Aside from random wires hanging out of the bottom of the dash? Well, the running/parking lights aren't working. Looks like a blown fuse, but all the lettering has worn and I don't know what amp fuse belongs there. There was one present, but was rusted and I couldn't read the lettering. Headlights, brake lights and blinkers all work but the blinkers are dim in the rear. Looks like a bad ground, but again, I'm really hesitating taking anything apart until I have basic knowledge of how it's wired. Dash lights are also out, high beam indicator light doesn't work. This will eventually get all wiring replaced.

My post is getting lengthy, so to get to the point, really I'm just seeing if anyone can help me out with some wiring diagrams or your own knowledge. Then I'll go from there.

Get a repair manual from Haynes or Clymer,although not as good as a factory manual they still have a lot of good info.I have a Haynes I picked up when I had a '77 truck and it has many wiring diagrams in the back.

Here's a scan from my '77 Operator's manual for the fuse sizes:

Fuses207720GMC.jpg

They should be the same or similar to your '78

Yeah I suppose I should. I do plan on having the truck for a long time and I can't rely on googling everything.

Thanks for the fuse info! Looks like I need a 20 amp

• 2 weeks later...

Got quite a few things done on the truck in the last week or so and I'm pretty happy with how it's coming along.