Best Value Tuner

Hey All,

I just bought a 2000 GMC Sierra 1500 5.3L Extended Cab Z71 4x4 and would like to get a little better gas mileage and more responsiveness if possible. I'm new to this site and new to tuning. Please forgive me if this topic has been covered already. I found another thread similar to this but it was different enough that i wanted to put my specific situation out there and get your opinions on it. I'd like to get a little better gas mileage and more responsiveness if possible without spending $500 or more for a powerful tuner that I'm not going to use the features on. Except for the Flowmaster mufflers the previous owner installed I believe it's bone stock and I don't have any plans for changing that. What tuner would get me the best bang for my buck?

Thanks,

Brian

I've been using HP Tuners for like 7-8 years now and from everything I've done, it is tough to get any major gains in power and mpg from the stock engine.

The maintenance on the engine and the way you drive are going to determine everything. No matter what it's still going to be about a 13-15 city avg and 19-20 on the freeway if you are going the speed limit or slightly under.

Most of the "power" gains come from changing up settings within the calibration to make it less lazy.

Hypertech, dialbo, SCT tuner and maybe the edge tuning kinda all have that canned tune where it changes those settings and may get you want you are after.

Otherwise you can get into a HP Tuners for $400 and learn to do it yourself.

• Thanks 1

Thanks CamGTP. HPT is $400 for the unit then add $50 per credit and it'll do waaaaay more than i'll ever need. I figured there'd be some "bloatware" I could disable so i could get mileage gains without sacrificing power. I'd be happy with 1-2 mpg increase. in my situation do you think there's an advantage to doing it myself over using a canned tune?

Thanks again

The $400 is for the product and the 2 credits. Just the MPVI2 unit itself is only $299.