4x4 Grinding Noise...2006 Z71

Need2Know

Question

dang, i worked in the automotive service business for a few years and always was skeptical of the customers who were in every week with a different noise to hunt. This is a 2006 z71 w/ 6000 miles.

Now i feel like i'm getting in that boat. previously i've complained about the low-speed squeal from the front end (still doing it) and now after having the opportunity to use 4wd for the first time, there's a mild grinding noise while running in 4hi. Not very loud and pretty much intermittent, but it's there and i had a 2002 2500 4x4, w/ electronic transfer case, that didn't do that.

again, forum, need help and advice. i'm way out of school on automotive issues, besides, i was a writer.

0 answers to this question

dang, i worked in the automotive service business for a few years and always was skeptical of the customers who were in every week with a different noise to hunt. This is a 2006 z71 w/ 6000 miles.

Now i feel like i'm getting in that boat. previously i've complained about the low-speed squeal from the front end (still doing it) and now after having the opportunity to use 4wd for the first time, there's a mild grinding noise while running in 4hi. Not very loud and pretty much intermittent, but it's there and i had a 2002 2500 4x4, w/ electronic transfer case, that didn't do that.

again, forum, need help and advice. i'm way out of school on automotive issues, besides, i was a writer.

I have the EXACT same problem on my 03' Denali AWD. It's almost like a rubbing noise at low speeds. I already replaced the front left hub bearing because I figured that was it, but it is still there. I have also already checked the brakes all the way around and they are good. I am at a loss. My wife can't stand the noise, drives her crazy.