I've got an 03 and I'm looking to change the fuel filter. I'm new to diesels. I see that its a canister under the hood. Is there anything special i should know when changing it? Or just unscrew and rescrew like your oil filter?

Is there a filter anywhere else that i should do, or is that the only one?

Thanks

Wow this must be some hardcore tech. So hardcore that no one can tell me the finer points on changing my fuel filter.

Guess maybe I should have asked a question more suitable like what size tires can I fit on my truck, how many mpg can my truck get, or what programmer is best for my truck.

Wow this must be some hardcore tech. So hardcore that no one can tell me the finer points on changing my fuel filter.

Guess maybe I should have asked a question more suitable like what size tires can I fit on my truck, how many mpg can my truck get, or what programmer is best for my truck.

Sometimes the best way to learn is to jump in with both feet.

Sometimes the best way to learn is to jump in with both feet.

Good advice, but to someone who has built Jeep from the ground up, sitting on a custom 4 link suspension, full width axles and a twin turbo 350 thats something I already knew :driving:

But I don't like to turn my daily driver into a learning experience.

Crap. I just typed it all out and the forum burped on me. Ok, no flowery prose, just the facts...

Unscrew the old filter, remove the water in fuel sensor from the bottom of it, put it in the new filter. Screw the new filter on. done.

You'll have to bleed the air out. There's a black, plastic screw on the top of the filter housing. Remove that. There's a silver thing that sticks up out of the filter housing that looks sorta like the bottom of a small can. That's the priming pump. Pump that thing until fuel comes out the bleed screw hole. You want pure fuel coming out, running all over your engine and frame, no air.