6.0L / Allison Combo???

Is this combo available? Does anybody have it? When I got my 2005 2500HD with the 6.0L/4L80E combo, I didn't think you could get the Allison with the 6.0L. I don't mind the 4L80E and has given me no problems so far but the Allison tranny is a nice piece. I like the available gear ratios in the Allison better than the 4L80E. What rear gear ratios would be available with this option?

Not available. It would be nice though. I think it takes quiet-a-few horses to spin the Allison 1000. They would have to enhance the 6.0L in the HD's to get the horses to the ground. Without the torque of a big block or diesel, I'm sure the fuel consumption of the small block would not be cost effective. I'm not a mechanic, so I may be way off-base though.

The Allison 1000's Gear Box was built to support ~ 1400 lbt of *shift* torque and transfer 600+lbft during acceleration. According to GM, the Allison can safely do this at no more than 4850 RPM.

I was told that if you reduce engine torque, the transmission can spin higher. So a Vortec 6000 or Vortec 8100 could spin the Allison 1000 higher than 4850 RPM since they both have much lower torque outputs.

I can only clarify some of this information though.

The Allison does have a big first gear edge and a tad better OD. I would like one too.

The Allison 1000's Gear Box was built to support ~ 1400 lbt of *shift* torque and transfer 600+lbft during acceleration.  According to GM, the Allison can safely do this at no more than 4850 RPM. 

I was told that if you reduce engine torque, the transmission can spin higher.  So a Vortec 6000 or Vortec 8100 could spin the Allison 1000 higher than 4850 RPM since they both have much lower torque outputs.

I can only clarify some of this information though.

The Allison does have a big first gear edge and a tad better OD.  I would like one too.

It would be best to use an 06 or 4th gen Allison as they have increased the rated rpm limit of the parts.