At 170K + on my 4.8l can or should I fix/ upgrage/ replace. Engine swap??

Okay, guys I'm new to all this but after searching the inner webs I'm now really confused. 

I have a 2010 Sierra Crew Cab SL 2WD 4.8L with about 170,000 miles. I'm the original owner. I know I'm getting up there in miles and will likely need to start doing major maintenance in the near future to keep this truck reliable. 

It has recently started having terrible cold starts, the starter sticks and the engine misses for like 10-15 set the all is good and the problem is gone on the next startup. (not sure whats going on) 

I plan to keep this truck running till the wheels fall off. Its paid for and does the job (and looks good).  

Due to the recent issues I'v been thinking of what my best options are to keep her going long into the future. I mentioned to a buddy what I was thinking about and he brought up replacing the engine with a 6.0L when major issues arise. I like the idea of the additional ponies ans the 4.8 has always been weak, especially paired with the 4 speed trans. 

My truck is basically bone stock and a daily driver / commuter. I want reliability but some more power would be great too. 

What are my options for engine swaps? There are so many engine codes and different year models that I'm lost as to what fits with minimal mods.  I know I will need to get my ecu tuned to a different size engine but some say the 4.8, 5.3, and 6.0 are interchangeable. but year models and engine codes  year models come into play ( then I'm lost).

I also have questions about my trans and gearing. Can I keep them ? Will they work? Will an upgrade kill my MPG? 

I need some info from guys that have experience with this stuff. I'm not trying to build a hot rod just a strong reliable truck..

Thanks for any info you can provide.   

A larger engine will mean more power but less fuel mileage. The 6.0 swap would make for the worst mileage and the 5.3 only slightly less than what you probably get now.