Torque Converter Shudder on fresh rebuild.

Chris Briley

Question

I have a 2016 Chevrolet Silverado that had transmission issues and eventually went down. The torque converter failed and it sent metal throughout the entire transmission resulting in a full transmission rebuild and a new torque converter. I have 13,000 miles on the rebuild and it has started shuddering again when under a load like coming up and over an incline. I pulled my dipstick and checked the fluid and everything is clean and clear until I run my fingers through the fluid. It's black and you can see little tiny metal shavings in it. I'm a heavy equipment technician at a CAT dealership so I know that's a sign that once again the torque converter is failing.  I got a 3 year 36,000 mile warranty on the transmission so tomorrow I will be Contacting the shop that rebuilt it and will be asking for another rebuild.  Also I took it to them a couple weeks ago because it felt like it was shaking a little when I would start to accelerate coming from a stop and he said that's just how those transmissions are and that it's the torque clutch converter and that I could get it turned of for gears 1-4. I did that and it helped but now my torque converter is obviously going out again. My question is after it's rebuilt again what can I do to prevent it from happening yet again. I'm on the verge of fixing it and selling it. I really would like to keep the truck but I don't want to have to be constantly rebuilding the transmission.  I tried to get a picture of the fluid on my finger but it didn't show up. 

16272173722996228448425927382144.jpg

16272186273418365188106929882931.jpg

10 answers to this question

38 minutes ago, Chris Briley said:

Clutch front cover and piston?  Can you explain? I don't know a whole lot about transmissions. Thanks.