6.6 6spd towing..some real world data.

First off, I love the 6.6 gas. We tow our race boat (9000lb boat, 2000lb trailer) all over the country with it. Im sure a diesel would tow it better, but ive never felt like it needed a ton more power on a hill or passing a truck. We used to haul it with a 6.0 gas. I cannot describe to you what a major step up this was lol. 

Recently I hauled from upstate NY to south FLA and back. Pretty much 3000 miles. Im a fairly agressive driver. Cruise was never set below 70 and in SC, George and FLA was set at 77. Through a few traffic jams, weather changes and all of it we average 9.8mpg. Pretty good all things considered. 

I have a 10spd 6.6 on order for myself. Once its in ill provide a back to back. That being said, the 6spd is a really great trans for this truck. 

• Like 1

• 1 month later...

2021 6.6 Gasser towing 10,000# travel trailer.  This trip, 2000 miles, getting average 9.6mpg.  No oil use, 40% life yet to go and I haven’t added any oil sence the change.  I’m very happy with this combination. We are traveling from Idaho to Florida.  Tranny running 195 degF every time I look.  

IMG_0362.jpeg

Might want to get the newer 153F transmission thermostat at some point since you tow heavy. I’m putting it in later this year when I do a fluid change at 15k miles on my 2021.  I don’t tow a heavy trailer so I haven’t been in a hurry. 

3 hours ago, Cold North Country said:

Is the GM oem 153 Thermo readily available, and if so where?.  Dealer said will not replace under bulletin unless there is a problem.  Why does GM want the Tranny to run so hot?  Is there a reason?

The new part superseded the 195F thermostat in mid 2021. All that are out there now should be the new ones. They have a code stamped on them. I think it is “70” but I’d have to look again. The new part should be readily available.  There was a long thread on this.