I want to buy a boat. Can I tow it?

Hi guys, it's been a while.

I am not a towing expert and will never claim to be.

I have a 2007 1500 SCSB with a 4.8 2 wheeler. I am looking at picking up a newer 25' boat. The trailering weight would be over 5K but under 6K lbs.

Most of my trailering would be in town. The boat ramp is not too steep.

IS this a NO! DO NOT DO IT or is it a WELL TRY IT AND SEE kind of scenario?

Thanks

My dad pulls his 27 ft boat, ~6000lbs, with a 2002 F-150, 4.6 V8 with 170,000 miles. He just pulls it from storage to the ramp, which is a few miles and has no issues or problems. I think if you're looking at a long road trip on the freeway you might be working your truck a little too hard. Also, since your truck is 2wd, watch your rear tires on the ramp. If they get into the water you might not have enough traction to pull the boat out.

After posting I did a bit more digging. Everything I found leads me to believe I will be ok.

I was concerned a bit about the boat ramp. I guess I just go for the boat. If I have to get a new truck as well then so be it. Right?

The 4.8 is not much different than the 5.3. They use the same block, I'm pretty sure. Anyways, yes it will tow it fine. But as stated above, watch those back tires and never take it down a ramp you don't think you won't make it back up.

I have a 2007 1500 SCSB with a 4.8 2 wheeler. I am looking at picking up a newer 25' boat. The trailering weight would be over 5K but under 6K lbs.

Thanks

You need to figure out what axle you got if you got the 3.23 like me you are pushing the limit as stated in the manual.

I think you'll be ok I got a 19.5 foot boat and I think the only problem you might run into with a 2wd would be if the ramp was slimey.

I got a 2wd and I haven't been stuck yet.

Don't listen to these guys saying the 4.8 is a dog. Comparing the 4.8 to the 5.3 is retarded. It's all in the axle.