Installed my first ever amplifier and sub!

Installed my first system today. Went with a Blaupunkt combination 10" sub and amp. Fits perfectly under the rear crew cab seat. Wired the speakers directly to the stock head unit front L\R speakers, Used fuse 30 for remote on. Everything was a breeze except trying to get through the wiring boot. I cut a slit in the nipple on top and just spent about 10 minutes with a wire Hanger gently probing until that sucker went on through. Very happy with it, good bass inside without being a 48yo teenager shaking the cars next to me.

• Like 2

2014-2018 silverado amp subwoofer install

I’m gonna do a quick write up on my install. I am by no means a pro, this is what I did and I’m sharing my  experience.

Supplies:
Lockit posi-taps 22-20g 6pack

Posi-lock Connectors 14-16g 8 pack

Blaupunkt  GTHS131 10" subwoofer with 200 watt amp combo
25" speaker wire

Boss KIT2 8g Amp kit (be very careful, the power wire is literally 6" over for a crew cab from battery to the rear seat.) It does not have enough speaker wire to run 2 pair from the head unit to the rear seat.

Zip ties

My amp has hi-level inputs so I didn’t need a Low level converter 

I have always used the front door speakers for amp installs. They are full range while many times the rears, tweeters, etc are only given lows, mids or highs.
I tap into the fuse panel rather than splicing the antenna on.
Remove kick plates on both sides of the front of the truck, remove sill plates front\rear.

*Turn off radio, Disconnect negative, than positive battery cables. Remove battery cap

Speaker wires:

pull the trim piece (very carefully) from around head unit, there are plugs on the bottom that just press and remove.

remove the lower glove compartment 

remove head unit, 4 7mm bolts and gently pry out.

remove 3 plugs holding head unit to screen