Recommended psi for my Suburban's tires?

They are at about 30 psi right now - this is my first time checking on them.

2004 Suburban LT, 8.1L engine.

Has 16" Stampede Radials on them.

It says on the sidewall the maximum psi with max load is 65 PSI.

Seems a bit high, but I was wondering if I should inflate it up that much?

It is about 50 degrees outside right now as well.

Thanks!

If the tires are the same size as OEM than use the PSI requirements on the drivers door sticker and adjust accordingly. Never go to the Max on th sidewall. Its the max the tire will safely handle.

The only problem that I can see here is if the original tires were "P" tires (as in P255-70R-16), and the replacement tires happen to be "LT"s. (as in LT255-70R-16).

In that case the "LT" tires should be inflated to a higher PSI, due to the fact that they will be something between a 6-10 ply tire. With a heavier load tire like that, inflating then to the specs of a "P" tire (somewhere between 30-35psi) won't be enough. :loser:

Part of the point that I was trying to make was missed.

There are different ratings for tires. P vs. LT. Then, within LT, there can be different load ratings. There can be Load Range "C" and Load Range "E". The "C" and "E" are different tires with different needs.

LT245/75R-16 tires can be either C's or E's.

It needs to be known what the Suburban came with originally... Load Range C's or E's.

Take a look at the spare (if it is the original one), to see if it is a Load Range "C" or "E", then look at what load range the Stampede tires are. If the Load Range matches between the spare and the Stampedes, then you're fine. Go with what it says on the sticker in the door frame. The sticker on the door frame may also specify if it is for "C" or "E". If things don't match up, then a little more investigation is needed.