Anyone install a DC to DC Charge Controller on 2021 2500HD Duramax?

Looking to hear from others who have done this. I have a slide in camper for my truck and want to improve the ability to charge the camper house battery while driving.  

I know it depends on the battery in the camper, LA/AGM/Lithium... but what product did you use, why and what was the install like?

Several products out there are attractive, but I'm no mechanic or electrician. Looking to upgrade my current electrical capacity in the camper and need to start with a good charging system. 

What did you use and can a rookie like me do this?  Thanks!

I have a dc to dc converter in my slide in camper that is powered from the main battery of my gas 3500hd. (I also have an OEM auxiliary battery. )

It’s a relatively simple installation. You should install the dc to dc charger very close to the camper battery, typically in the camper battery compartment. This allows the charger to compensate for voltage loss in the wires to the camper. You want to have a fuse or circuit breaker in the positive wire at the truck battery to protect against short to ground along that wire. 

I have a Victron Orion Smart 12/12-30 charger which delivers 30 amps. I used 6awg wire end to end. I used the existing unused 80 amp fuse in the main battery fuse block. 

On 10/26/2021 at 2:09 PM, Another JR said:

I have a dc to dc converter in my slide in camper that is powered from the main battery of my gas 3500hd. (I also have an OEM auxiliary battery. )

It’s a relatively simple installation. You should install the dc to dc charger very close to the camper battery, typically in the camper battery compartment. This allows the charger to compensate for voltage loss in the wires to the camper. You want to have a fuse or circuit breaker in the positive wire at the truck battery to protect against short to ground along that wire.