'04 Ext. Cab Silverado Audio Upgrade

I am not an expert on car stereo's and don't feel like getting ripped off, so I was curious if I could get some advice and input from people more in the know than I.

I stopped by the local car audio place and told them what I was looking for:

"I'm not a audio fanatic and don't need to have the best, I'm just looking to have a decent sound system. My current stereo is the factory six speaker setup. I really don't want to replace the factory HU and I hate all the new aftermarket HU's, too much going on with them, I like the simple tight look the stock HU presents. The stock unit currently though just does not give enough juice when I'm on the highway for my liking. I don't need a system that you can hear three blocks away."

The guy I talked to said I would really need drop about $1500 to get a system I would be happy with, anything less and I would think it sounded good for the first couple weeks and then I would want more. He was talking about putting a turn knob in the dash to adjust the bass, custom built sub-enclosures and a good eclipse amp, yadda yadda...

I explained again that I didn't need a "KICKIN" system, just something with a little more juice, he then went on to say that I could probably get by with about $750 and the upgrade other components later.

With that, I felt maybe he was trying to oversell me. I'm 34, I've done my eardrum blasting days already, I don't have a street truck, I have a 4x4 and do a lot of back country camping (won't have the stereo blasting in the back country), I'm not trying to impress any friends. I just want a better sounding system.

What is everyone's opinion on what is the correct price range and what are the key components to look at for what I am trying to get? If it's $1500, that's cool, I can afford it, I just don't want to over spend for something that I don't really care if I have.

TIA!