engine/tranny combinations in 2500HD

Newbie here, so please don't flame for a dumb question!

Is it possible to get a 2500HD with the 8.1L engine and NOT the Allison transmission? In other words, if I'm browsing used trucks online and I see one listed as having the 8.1L engine and "automatic" can I assume it's always the Allison or is there a chance it could be a non-Allison automatic transmission with that engine?

Is it possible to get a 2500HD with the 8.1L engine and NOT the Allison transmission?  In other words, if I'm browsing used trucks online and I see one listed as having the 8.1L engine and "automatic" can I assume it's always the Allison or is there a chance it could be a non-Allison automatic transmission with that engine?

Yes, you can get an 8.1 without the Allison and have an automatic (4L80E)

Actually, you cannot do this in the pickups. The following are the only combinations that can be had in a 2500HD or 3500 pickup.

Vortec 6000 with 5 speed manual

Vortec 6000 with 4 speed auto (4L80e)

Vortec 8100 or Duramax with 6 speed manual

Vortec 8100 or Duramax with 5 speed auto (Allison 1000)

The only way you can pair the Vortec 8100 big block with an automatic transmission other than the Allison 1000 is to get a 2500 Surburban or Avalanche....and in that case, the automatic mated to the big block is a 4L85e (same gear ratios as 4L80e, but a few beefier components to handle the higher power).

Is it possible to get a 2500HD with the 8.1L engine and NOT the Allison transmission?  In other words, if I'm browsing used trucks online and I see one listed as having the 8.1L engine and "automatic" can I assume it's always the Allison or is there a chance it could be a non-Allison automatic transmission with that engine?