Remote Start

I have a 2004 silverado and plan on purchasing a remote start kit and installing before winter. I was wanting to know if anyone had any ideas wheres the best place to purchase,best brands etc. and how difficult the installation will be. thanks in advance for any help.

Just installed the 5901 today and I love it. I would recommend any of the DEI brands (python, viper, clifford). You'll need an interface module check www.xpresskit.com to see which is needed. I was a professional installer for three years and a remote start install takes me the better part of day. If you take your time you can get it done over a few days. Try to get wiring information printed out for you from your local install shop. If you have specific question pm me.

I install for a living and I completely agree with all above. Any DEI piece is going to work well. If you are looking for a good remote start with keyless entry consider the Viper 5101 if you want to add an alarm as well definitly go with the Viper 5901. Install technique is very important to a good install and you will need, and know how to use, a Digital Multi-Meter (DMM). I have an '05 Silverado, the wiring is the same for '04. I used a DEI XK01 Bypass Module. The nice thing about the XK01 is will have the ability to add window roll up by simply wiring in a relay. You will also need a second relay to feed your second accessory wire. If you have any questions or need any help feel free to to give me a shout.

Here is the wiring information for your truck:

DIRECTWIRE™ WIRING INFORMATION - CHEVROLET / SILVERADO / 2004 / Remote Start

12volts red (x2) + ignition harness

Starter yellow + ignition harness

Second Starter N/A

Ignition pink + ignition harness

Second Ignition white + ignition harness

Notes: To avoid the check engine light from coming on and possible damage to the automatic transmission, the second ignition in this vehicle MUST be powered when adding a remote start system.

Third Ignition N/A