Propane Conversion, Need Information

Hello, I'm new on the forum.

I own several gm truck, 5.3l and 6l and some ford 5.4l, and I looking for propane conversion kit.

I would like to find who built good stuffs and how it exactly work.

I'm also wondered to know how it will not light up all the alarm lights in the Dash.

I'm a snowmobile drag racer and I built turbo system for snowmobile, so I have some knowledge about motor.

Fuel is very expensive here in Quebec, and I would like to find some economy for my truck float, and I would like to know exactly how those kits worsk and how it cost, what performance, does someone ever tried it?

thanks for helping and sorry for my broken english.

We used to do all are company trucks. It works GREAT imo but there are a few drawbacks. If you want to do it right you should pop the heads and change out the exhaust valves and seats. I believe it was inconnel valves we had inztalled but this is in the 80's/early 90's so I cant swear by that. We did do a few without the head work and the engines became pretty sluggish after a 100K or so. Also we found that for whatever reason the propane plugged up catalytic converters pretty easilly so we would remove them. The cost for installation and kit on the last vehivle we did was around 3K all in and done. Dual fuel so it would run on either. Nowadays its too hard to find propane around for fill ups so we stopped doing it long ago.

But when we were in the heyday of propane it burns soooooo clean and we had one truck reach over 700K kms on the original engine and it still ran great when we sold it. 1981 GMC 2500 350 4spd manual ( bull low first gear ) so if you have convenient access to propane and your willing to do the conversion properly it works great imo. We also typically changed the cam shaft too as propane has higher octane but its less dense that liquid gasoline so they get a bit more doggy without a beefier cam to compensate.