So you want coilovers (Boss install and review)

After owning a 2015 double cab silverado, and finding out that the rear seat doesn't fit a car seat very well (or at all), I finally convinced the wife a crew cab was 'necessary' for us. Enter my 2017 Sierra crew cab.

I loved my silverado, but with the z71 ranchos and a 2.5" lift kit, the ride was extremely harsh and jarring. I think it was a combination of the shocks and them always being slighly compressed with a over-the-strut spacer. With my new truck, I knew something that harsh was not going to fly, especially with a pregnant wife, and eventually a new baby. Fortunately I was able to find the deal on a set of halo lifts coil-overs and decided to give it a go.

This review will be more on the technical side, and as a mechanic, I'll try to give some insight and tips and tricks if your going to do it yourself. So, lets get started on this journey.

A little background....my truck is a 2017 Sierra SLT with the max-tow package, 6.6' bed, and 6.2L motor.

4sw6HA6.jpg

With only 1800 miles and everything settling in nicely, from the hub to the fender I got the following measurements:

6JKUv9N.jpg

mkcXv0z.jpg

This is giving me about 3" of rake...which is almost where I was at with my double cab. Now, the goodies have arrived!

vXREhyv.jpg

nnVTMX0.jpg

g4aDvGz.jpg

The quality is superb. No issues with scratches or dents on the shock bodies, grade 8 hardware, easy and clearly labeled parts. It was packaged well and arrived quickly. First glace and test with the rear shocks,they're pretty stiff! Not sure how this will translate, but we shall see.

How does the 1" block measure up?

9A7Tkoh.jpg

Right at 2.256" to give 1" of lift.

The front came with 4 spacers, to give .50" of lift per side per spacer, for a total of 1" if all 4 were used. Consistancy is key!

zbdZTF0.jpg

I was literally within .003" on all 4 spacers. Not bad at all.

Let the install begin!