After market remote start

I just got my 2014 Silverado this summer. I just learned as it's getting colder I'm not too impressed with the features of the remote start. 

I'm not happy with the range, or being able to see the parking light confirmation at times. 

I'd be happy to get a honk confirmation if anyone has ever heard about this. 

I am also looking into just replacing it with an aftermarket system. I'm not technical enough to do this myself, so I'm looking into what my local shops have to offer. 

One, which I believe is a bolt on for my current system, is Drone remote start. 

It has 2 way remotes, and has an app for your phone. You pay about  $5 a month for the phone app, as it needs it's own wireless signal. The price for the system is reasonable. 

Anyone know if i can suspend this $5 for the months I don't need it? Or have any other helpful suggestions for me? 

Thanks. 

You should get several years (I think 3) of free use of the app that onstar/ GM privides Seach your app store for MyChevrolet. The app includes remote start functions and will tell you whether it was successful and you don't even need to be within range of your key fob since its done through onstar.

use that free term up before you worry about paying for anything aftermarket.

Side note: we installed a drone system on my wife's old car which did not come with remote start. and no, they will not let you pay for only the winter months. we tried that. Think of it as a set price for the app that you just pay monthly installments on.

I agree with the masses. Go with the app. I've had previous experience with aftermarket remote starts and alarm systems with mixed results. Seems like I had an issue with all three systems at some point in their lives. Never had an issue with the app.

2 hours ago, aseibel said: