HELP! Electrical Issues

Hi, everyone! New to the forum and looking to get some direction as I am relatively new to GM (previously owned Toyota Tundras/Tacomas)
I purchased a used '14 Silverado DC z71 4x4. I am having the following issues (I will try to be thorough as I do not know much about electrical):

The truck has a mount for a gooseneck. It seems in installing it the previous owner spliced the tail light wires at the very rear of the vehicle for some reason. Back under the bumper, right before some sort of module that I'm thinking relays the signal over to each light individually. The spliced wire(s) are a soft green color. 
About a month out from purchase the truck saw some rain overnight (July). The next morning it did a crank/no start. I let is sit for an hour or so and went back to it. I cycled the key a few times to see if I could hear the fuel pump and then decided to crank it and it started fine but the CEL came on. I drove it for a few miles and it eventually just went off.

Fast foward to two nights ago. It rained again and my neighbor came over at 6am to let me know my tail lights were on. I decided to crank the truck over to see if it had enough charge to crank in order to make arrangements for the morning. It did a crank/no start again. I disconnected the battery to get the lights off and about 30 minutes later reconnected it to see what it would do. The truck started up fine. BUT when I turned it off, the engine kept running. Key in off position, out of the cylinder. I pulled the fuel pump relay and it kept running, pulled the fuel pump fuse and it kept running. It didn't shut off until I found the ECM relay and pulled that. Plugged it back in, truck turned on, but would not shut off again unless I pulled the ECM relay.