Getting Keys Cut (Options)

Greetings all! Noob here, First post :P

Just recently bought my first truck ever and currently addressing some issues...

2016 Silverado 1500 WT Extended Cab Pickup 4-Door
5.3L 5328CC 325Cu. In. V8 GAS OHV Naturally Aspirated

Bought used, came with 3 fobs and only 1 key. I worked that into the deal for $200 - 300 off from the Subaru dealer I bought it from and agreed to deal with this myself. I tried searching here, 0 results, I'm guessing because I just haven't gotten used to the search here yet. Little help on comments or links? I have a message gone to an ebay seller right now to see what they can do but doesn't hurt to check in with experienced GM truck owners for first hand suggestions and knowledge. Here's the links on ebay I found...

(Key Cutting Service)

https://www.ebay.com/itm/2-GM-KEY-CUTTING-SERVICE-SIDE-MILL-HIGH-SECURITY-2-TRACK-LASER-CUT-BY-CODE/331936724331?_trksid=p2485497.m4902.l9144 

(Actual Keys)

https://www.ebay.com/itm/2-GM-REPLACEMENT-TRANSPONDER-CHIP-Chevy-BowTie-Logo-KEY-BLANK-B119-PT-B121-PT/352302893722?_trksid=p2485497.m4902.l9144

How have you guys addressed this? Hoping there's a cheaper solution than the stealership :P

TIA,

krunch

Edited by krunch

On my 2016 I worked directly with the Parts Department to purchase a spare key.  Once the Key has been cut it has to be programed to your vehicle in order for it to start your vehicle.  They took care of it for me and it cost ~$80.

2 hours ago, DougFL said:

On my 2016 I worked directly with the Parts Department to purchase a spare key.  Once the Key has been cut it has to be programed to your vehicle in order for it to start your vehicle.  They took care of it for me and it cost ~$80.