$11.00 Thermostat = $400.00

wzschirnt

Hi,

I had a thread a few months ago about trying to find a lower temp thermostat for my 2007 1500 V-Max. I got a 160 degree from Mr. Gasket, which worked fine lowering my water temps.

Now, a few months down the line, I get "Engine Hot, a/c turned off" in the DIC and water temp guage shows nothing (dead cold). 1st Chev dealer said the temp sender shorted out. Replaced for $143.00. Had GM Extended Warr, but with $200.00 deduct, so it was out of pocket.

Problem returns in a week. Another Chev dealer says thermostat was stuck and made engine run "too cold" and it gave the "Hot" message(?). Covered under the 5/100 warranty, but wait - you have an aftermarket thermostat. Sorry, not covered, so it will cost you $243.00 to replace it (or put the old one back in; either way $243.00).

Still working with the second dealership, may still get some help (I have the old original thermostat in my old parts shelf. He might be able to turn it in as defective, maybe). Fingers crossed.

New oem thermostat in and running as before - 210 indicated all the time and no messages. He gave me a week to try and see if it screws up (he seemed to think the message was a result of a new bad sender) before paying the piper.

Things not looking good for my wallet. Cooler temp with the aftermarket thermostat was what I was looking for, especially during the 100+ temps we've had in TX lately. Just mad about the title of this post!

Later

walt z.

Day to day driving in high temps should not cause any issues in your truck if it is running right. Those temps are rare in NH but we had a day or two if it this summer and of course that was the day someone chose to hit someone else on the highway during my commute. A couple hours of stop and go driving in those temps with AC on full bore and the temp gauge never budged. Cooler temp t-stats will gain you nothing but troubles on a modern engine with all the computer controls. I'd leave it stock.