Couple Looking for Intro to Home Defense

My brother-in-law and his wife have asked me several times in passing about handguns for home defense. They looked to me because of the many guns I've had. I did some casual IPSC and Steel Challenge shooting many years ago. But I just don't like teaching this particular subject matter, because I'm not a professional home defense expert and I think of home defense as a wholistic subject, not just a gun shooting thing. So I haven't been to forthcoming in offering training. Last night, after dinner, I did show them the difference between a revolver and a semi auto pistol and provided some of the advantages and disadvantages of both.

I'm wondering if any of you have had professional home defense training or know of a quality curriculum in the LA- OC area? I might even be temped to go with them.

I'm no expert, but for home defense, I like a 12 gauge automatic. No aiming, just point and it would be hard to miss an intruder.

Completely off the subject, but I'll respond.

A shotgun isn't some kind of spray wand. It won't be much bigger than your fist in most distances encountered within your home. You will definitely have to aim and you will be wielding a 3 ft long 7-8 lb gun to do it. This is a good video to watch on the subject. Thunder Ranch is a reputable outfit.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9NVJVaxrxWo

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Back to the thread topic....

I found a place on the net that has a lot of credentials. Seems legit and well qualified instructors. http://www.firearmstraining.com/classes

Edited by spurshot
  • Like 3