Caliper slide pin stuck.

This is my first time changing brake pads and rotors. I have a 2009 chevy suburban. I took off the caliper mounting bracket (I'm changing the front brakes), and the upper slide pin moves, but the lower is seized. I tried turning it with a wrench, but it still wouldn't move. How can I get it out? Should I use a breaker bar and twist it? Since it is seized, do I have to replace just the pin if I can get it out, or the whole mounting bracket? The inner brake pad has worn much more than the outer. The other side of the car didn't have any seized caliper pins, but the inner brake pad was a little more worn than the other. What parts should I replace other than the pads and rotors that I am already replacing?

Edited by 2009_Suburban
spelling

If possible you will want to use some heat. I use a torch and heat up the caliper bracket around the pin, then use vise grips to try and twist/turn it. Heating up the bracket can help expand the metal and break it free.

From there I will clean the inside out with a drill bit and lots of parts cleaner. Then slam tons of grease down inside of it with new caliper pins and boots.

If you can't get the pin out you will have to but a new bracket.

A reman caliper may be the way to go if you can't get it apart. They are not that expensive. On the other side make sure you clean and lube the pins and make sure the pads move freely on the bracket. rust builds up under the antirattle hardware and "jambs" the pads from moving. Remove the hardware and grind, sand, scrape, sandblast the rust from the bracket and coat the surface with a synthetic grease to slow down future corrosion. Brake jobs are MUCH more than slapping pads and rotors on and should include a complete inspection of all the lines and hoses, rubber parts of the calipers and a brake fluid flush for a complete job

Edited by richard wysong

21 hours ago, CamGTP said: