wiper relay location

My wipers failed working, and I was able to get them repaired via warranty. Just as another member on this this forum, the repair required the replacement of the fuse panel of my truck (2016 sierra SLT with the 6.2 and max tow).

The upfitters manual shows the washer circuit in perfect detail and has two relays (motor and speed).. I figured the relay failed, no biggie. The problem is that the relay is not a plug in relay in the fuse panel like you would expect. I think this is a TERRIBLE design on GMs part

Has anyone replaced their fuse panel on their own outside of warranty and then able to actually keep their damaged fuse panel?

I would like to know where these relays are in this panel and if they are repairable. (I am an electronics technician and can work on soldered on components if that is what this is)

I think these are solid state opto-isolators (which can be TINY!!) If anyone has pictures of the tore apart fuse panel that would be great in case this happens again out of warranty.

Thank you all in advance

• 1 year later...

I did not do the replacement as it was under warranty. They removed the upper part of the fuse box on the drivers side.

There is some circuity in the fuse block and the relay that is pictured in the schematic is actually solid state and not user serviceable. It is inside the fuse block. good news it its not super expensive to replace

• 2 weeks later...
On 10/15/2018 at 10:57 AM, Lamby66 said:

I did not do the replacement as it was under warranty. They removed the upper part of the fuse box on the drivers side.

There is some circuity in the fuse block and the relay that is pictured in the schematic is actually solid state and not user serviceable. It is inside the fuse block. good news it its not super expensive to replace

Hi, Mike. I"m happy to hear your Sierra's wipers are back online. If you have any other concerns/questions, please do not hesitate to reach out to us via private message. Thanks!