What Transmission Fluid?

Sorry first post here. My local dealer is being a jerk.

I have a 2003 GMC Sierra 1500 HD 6.0.

I recently drained and refilled the transmission with below which seamed to be within the specs of the owners manual. I had some from a SUV I had in the past.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00T96Q9A6/ref=dp_iou_view_item?ie=UTF8&th=1

It's always had a bit of a whine since I got it hence why I tried to replace the fluid.

But then when i was looking up online about the whine I saw that I should be possibly running Dexron VI instead and that GM had updated the specs.

Can anyone help clarify things for me I am new to DIY.

Thanks

I'm pretty sure you found the spec in the owners manual was for Dex-III and the Castrol certainly meets that spec.  I don't know about the GM transmissions since I have the Allison in my 2004.5 Duramax.  For the Allisons in that time era, it was found that the so-called compatible Dex-VI was not compatible with the Allison seals.  If your transmission seals are compatible (you'll have to research that), the Dex-VI is fine.  But that doesn't mean it's so much better than the Dex-III that it's worth changing out.  If you're trying to replace most of the old ATF then it will probably take at least one more drain'n'fill.  Each change probably only gets about half of the ATF replaced.

• Like 1

I only use Dex 3 compatible, and ALWAYS re use the original Rubber pan gasket on the 4L80E.

the aftermarket gaskets are folded paper. ter originals are rubber with metal inside and very durable.

Im not sure the 1/2 ton HD gets a 4L80 though...

Yeah, you want to use a DexIII fluid.  DexVI is supposed to be backwards compatible with it, but at least for some transmissions/transfer cases, they leak after switching.  If the unit has been rebuilt since it was manufactured (and after around '06-'07), then the seals likely have been upgraded to work with DexVI.