Oil Pressure Gauge

I have a 2018 GMC Sierra with 8,000 miles on it so far and I've noticed recently that my oil pressure gauge is being a little weird. I just got a oil change 2k miles ago and when I'm at idle at a stop light or whatever the pressure gauge drops down like 3 notches before its at 0 then as soon as I hit the gas it jumps back up to the normal line. I thought I was just low on oil and I put 2 quarts in which was a little more than I needed but I'm not worried about that for right now but it is still not at the normal line when at idle. So it can't be that I am low on oil. Is this something that is common with these trucks or is something wrong? I'm new to the whole GM truck thing so I'd thought I'd ask on here before I jump to conclusions. Please let me know if there is an easy fix or something!

Thanks guys!

Your pump has variable output based on demand. It's not going to sit at a constant pressure.  Make sure your engine oil level is at the full mark and not way above. Next time just check the oil level prior to dumping in two quarts. If it's full, more oil not going to help.

Edit: What pressure is it at? Your description of "3 notches"..... are you saying it's at about 10 psi, the first mark above zero. Or the the third mark which would be about 30 psi

Edited by txab
  • Like 1

18 minutes ago, txab said:

Your pump has variable output based on demand. It's not going to sit at a constant pressure.  Make sure your engine oil level is at the full mark and not way above. Next time just check the oil level prior to dumping in two quarts. If it's full, more oil not going to help.

Edit: What pressure is it at? Your description of "3 notches"..... are you saying it's at about 10 psi, the first mark above zero. Or the the third mark which would be about 30 psi