Looking for a decent cam

Hello, I am doing a DoD/AFM delete and was hoping to get a little more power by upgrading my cam, though I am new to understanding how to read the numbers that are typically listed. The crap part is that I live in California and have to pass emissions, so it makes it a little difficult. Can anyone help guide me along in this process?

This is on a 2007 Chevy Silverado 1500 w/ 5.3L V8

Edited by Mr.Clark
Missed ingo

Hello, I am doing a DoD/AFM delete and was hoping to get a little more power by upgrading my cam, though I am new to understanding how to read the numbers that are typically listed. The crap part is that I live in California and have to pass emissions, so it makes it a little difficult. Can anyone help guide me along in this process?

This is on a 2007 Chevy Silverado 1500 w/ 5.3L V8
I had the dod delete on my old 2008 5.3
I went with texas speed stage 2 truck cam. Swg in temple tx did the work. And mail order tuner did the tuning.. I sure he could fix you up on the tune.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

A "stage" 1 or 2 cam should be fine. Both will pick up power and should not be an issue with emissions so long as you have healthy stock cat converters and the tune is done well.

Anything at or under a 212/218 camshaft size is what you want and those should be easy to find.

As far as Lsa goes? Keep it under 114 or? 

1 hour ago, CamGTP said:

A "stage" 1 or 2 cam should be fine. Both will pick up power and should not be an issue with emissions so long as you have healthy stock cat converters and the tune is done well.

Anything at or under a 212/218 camshaft size is what you want and those should be easy to find.

2 hours ago, redhot1.4 said:

I had the dod delete on my old 2008 5.3
I went with texas speed stage 2 truck cam. Swg in temple tx did the work. And mail order tuner did the tuning.. I sure he could fix you up on the tune.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk