Cold Air Intake worth the MPG?

Hey there, new guy here. Don't roast me too hard please!

I'm by no means a mechanic, just a guy who does a LOT of research, and asks questions.

I recently picked up an `03 Yukon SLT 5.3L for the family. Love it, don't love the 13.6 MPG though.

There seems to be an idea all over the internet that a cold air intake kit increases MPG and HP. Some people say "yeah it totally does", some say "it depends on your use case", and others say "it does nothing other than make it sound cool".

So I'm curious...for anybody on the same or similar platform, has anybody had any noticeable gains in MPG switching to a cold air intake setup, and if you did, do you have a recommended kit?

Even back in '03 they were spending big bucks on improving mileage.  If a slightly bigger plastic tube could give them even 0.1 mpg more, they would have put that bigger tube on there, as it would be effectively free mpg.

And if you want better mpg, get something like an edge cts that displays your current mpg (doesn't really matter if the number is absolutely correct or not), and control how you press on the go pedal to make that number better.

Edited by davester
Fixed grammar a bit.
  • Like 1

Not that I'm arguing with you, but aren't aftermarket performance products created specifically BECAUSE OEM's don't make things as great as they could?

Just trying to find some truth.

I know there's lots of research that says that the colder the air, the better the performance, and also talk about less resistance on the intake.

Just trying to find out if anybody has done it and have had any calculatable results from it.

The stock setup already draws in cold air from the fenderwell (vs some of the CAI's which are literally the opposite, and get air from the engine bay)...

Now, if you want more performance, a larger intake and a tune will give you some, but more performance = lower mpg...

• Like 1