Beat the "sticky throttle pedal" topic again

Did anyone ever write out or illustrate the instuctions for complete novices? Can this cleaning be performed by someone without a lot of experience? I've got a 99 Sierra that's started doing it and I don't want to take it to the shop.

No big deal. Take the air duct off the throttle body and use carb cleaner or throttle plate cleaner. Open the throttle blade and use a toothbrush to clean it out good. It will run very rough for a minute so don't let that scare you when your done.

ps. you might want to use a toothbrush that you don't intend to use on your teeth again. :mad:

Heres the correct fix:

Document ID# 1269746

2000 Chevrolet Chevy K Silverado - 4WD

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Subject: Increased Accelerator Pedal Effort, Idle Instability (Clean Throttle Body and Adjust Blade) #02-06-04-054B - (03/17/2003)

Models: 1999-2002 Chevrolet Silverado

2000-2002 Chevrolet Suburban, Tahoe

2002 Chevrolet Avalanche

1999-2002 GMC Sierra

2000-2002 GMC Yukon, Yukon XL

with 4.8L or 5.3L V8 Engine (VINs V, T, Z -- RPOs LR4, LM7, L59)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This bulletin is being revised to add condition information. Please discard Corporate Bulletin Number 02-06-04-054A (Section 06-Engine).

Condition

Some customers may comment on an idle instability and/or a higher than expected accelerator pedal effort from the idle position.

Cause

Condition may be caused by deposits in the throttle body bore and on the throttle plate.

Correction

Important: This procedure only applies to cable actuated throttle bodies on the models listed above. This procedure should not be performed on electronically controlled throttle bodies or on any vehicle or engine that is not listed above in the Models section.

Verify that the cause for this condition is not a damaged or binding throttle cable.