Freshly baptised GM-Truck driver

Hi there,

I am Sascha from Germany (Menzingen, a tiny town near Heidelberg, to be precise), and I recently bought a 2000 Silverado 1500 regular cab with Long bed.

I am a trained car mechanic and normally specialize in American Muscle Cars and More hardcore swaps (a 500HP LS3 with C4 Corvette Drivetrain and Suspension into a MK1 Ford Granada for Example).

After I moved to the countryside with mit girlfriend to restore the old House we bought I thought it would be a good idea to get myself a Pickup.

Totally digging the proprtions of a short cab with Long bed, the possibilities here in Germay to get one were bad, because 90% of all Pickups here are ext. or Crew cabs, or if the are reg.cab, they have the short bed.

Then I found one (yes the only one I could get hold of at all), it was is quite good shape, but had the 4.8 V8 (I prefered the 5.3), a shot 4L60E and only RWD.

I rebuild the tranny and think I actually like the RWD more now, the truck handles really well (had only experiences with 50s to 70s Trucks before) and the 4.8 is decent enough for now.

I will swap the 3.48 rearend for a 4.10 soon and put a torsen diff in it when I am at it, but otherwise the 4.8 is better than I thought.

Oh, and I have put a proper Stereo into it, dual-DIN Radio (was a bit of hacking) and a 1200 Watt RMS 7-Channel fully active DSP-controlled System with two 12" Woofers in sealed enclosures.

And I am atm modifying the bed to be more versatile to use.

In gereral I am aiming for the most practical all around vehicle poosible, as Long as you dont Need to seat more that 3 Peoples :)

If you have any questions, dont hesitate to ask.

cheers

Sascha

• Like 1

• 10 months later...

Hi, sorry for the late answer...

I will post pictures in 1 or two days, I am atm not at home.