Is my 4 speed tranny only 4 speed, or does it have 4 spd + overdrive?

This might be a stupid question, but I feel like I'm missing overdrive in my 4speed on my yukon. Is it 4 speed + overdrive? Or is 4th the overdrive?

2004 GMC Yukon XL 2500 - 4spd with 8.1L Vortec

My axle codes from the glovebox read that I have the 3.73 gearing, however when I'm travelling down the road I notice at about 60mph, I'm around 2000rpm which seems high for 3.73. 

Here's a video (couldn't accelerate fast due to other traffic): https://photos.app.goo.gl/9hS6brqufCsYdquA2  

From a stop, just counting the shift points, I have 4 total shifts, and no overdrive (rpms don't drop after I reach 4th gear). 

Is this normal? I'm new to the 4L80/4L85 

Edited by jlrosine

Need a little clarification, you say you feel 4 shift points, 1-2, 2-3, 3-4, and then TQ lockup above 45 mph or so? If so it's operating correctly and yes 4th gear is OD.  But if you meant you're only feeling 4 gears, 1,2,3,4 and don't see about a 100 rpm dropoff above 45 mph or so you may have an issue.

Thanks guys. 

garagerog: Yes I feel 1 => 2,  2 => 3, 3 => 4 . I've just read some other threads where I thought the 4.10 ratio folks were at about 2000rpm @ 60mph, so then I wondered if I was missing OD or something. 

I was expecting it to hit 4th gear, and then go in to overdrive at higher speed when letting off the gas or setting cruise. I could have sworn my 2004 yukon denali was like that...but it was a different transmission and drivetrain altogether. 

Edit: I just re-read what you stated. I think I'll have to go out and drive it again, I'm not sure I feel any dropoff after going in to 4th. 4th just feels like 4th all the time, I'm not sure I feel any dropoff in rpm until I completely let off the throttle. 

Thanks again,

-Jeremy

Edited by jlrosine