3.08 Gear Ratio for Towing?

I've been shopping around for a 2014+ GMC/Chevy half ton, and see a lot of 3.08 gear ratios.  I'm surprised there are so many on 4WD trucks with tow packages.  What is the typical tow rating on the 3.08 gearing?  For a crew cab truck.  

I've been looking for an NHT or 6.2l but those are nearly impossible to find.  I've found one 2015 with the 6.2l, but it had 130k miles already.  Too much for my taste and $25k.  What gearing do the NHT trucks or 6.2l typically come with?  I'll be using it to tow a 7,500lb loaded 30ft camper once or twice a month.  Thanks!

I pulled a 7,000lb boat with my 3.08 2014 5.3L with zero issues.  If I wasn't leadfooting it I could usually stay around 11-14MPG with it too.

Alternately, when I towed my 3,500lb pontoon that sat about 4-6 feet above the truck, it pulled it well but got horrible MPG's (7-10).

• Like 1

15 minutes ago, onecrazyfoo4u said:

I've been shopping around for a 2014+ GMC/Chevy half ton, and see a lot of 3.08 gear ratios.  I'm surprised there are so many on 4WD trucks with tow packages.  What is the typical tow rating on the 3.08 gearing?  For a crew cab truck.  

I would check the codes on the glove box to verify the gearing.  The reason I say this is my truck window sticker showed 3.08 Gears under the regular features but then listed under optional features where they had the Z71 package, All Star Edition, etc., there was a line item showing 3.42 gearing.  I went to the glove box at the time to confirm, but I don't remember what code refers to the 3.42 gearing.  You should be able to google it though.

Going by memory, the 3.08 gearing should put your towing capacity around 7500 lbs.  3.42 bumps you to about 9,600.  and then the max tow package with 3.73 gears puts you around 11,000 lbs.

• Like 1