Towing with 2500HD/6.0L

Just sold my 2014 1500LTZ CC and bought a 2016 2500LTZ CC three weeks ago. I have been towing trailers since 1979 with half and 3/4 ton Chevy or GMC pickups. This is the first one with the "tow/haul" feature that I'm towing with. I'm finding the owner's manual is very broad about towing and the dealer isn't a whole lot of help either with varied opinions. I'm expecting the tow/haul will automatically downshift as needed when climbing a grade. One of my concerns is transmission temperature. With my '92 2500 and 5.7 I installed a temp gauge and never went over 210 degrees, No one can tell me what the safe range is for towing and not overheat the trans. I drive reasonably so really not much to worry about but have seen people tow uphill quite fast. I will be towing a 2011 Heartland 30ft. fifth wheel with the Anderson hitch. I uploaded two photos but my .jpg isn't allowed on the forum.

Welcome to the forum.

These trucks are built to tow and haul, so the computer will pretty much take care of things as far as the trans temps go and shut things down before it gets out of hand. But around that 225* range is where you would want to keep a closer eye on things. Prior to that temp, don't worry about a thing.

The tow/haul feature simply stretches out the shift points, allowing the motor to rev a little higher before shifts. The tow/haul feature doesn't "automatically" downshift as needed, rather the computer system is doing that whether the T/H is engaged or not, it just allows higher RPMs as stated above.

BTW, I towed this weekend in 80* temps, pulling 8,000 pounds, and the trans temp never got above 150*.

Edited by SouthpawHD