Location of Gooseneck Ball

Hello,

This may have been discussed elsewhere, but I recently found out that they moved the gooseneck ball location 2" behind the rear axle now, as opposed to right over or ahead of the rear axle.  Has anyone seen any communication on why they did this and the justification for it?  I have no knowledge or expertise either way, but it was always my understanding that the tow point for a fifth wheel or gooseneck should be over the axle or just in front.

Has anybody noticed any steering issues or anything else different with this change?

Thanks.

I haven't heard any reports, but it will reduce the amount of weight you can get transferred on to your steer axle. Which means, higher weights on your rear axle. More payload will be taken up by just the rear axle leading to higher chances of being over weight at the scale. It will reduce steering traction as well. 

All my class 8 trucks run air sliders on the 5th's so I can position them for different trailers, different loads, and can fine tune my axle weights by sliding the 5th position. Having it behind the axle makes no sense from a GVWR perspective. I suppose they did that because the new bed is taller or longer. If I am moving a D8 dozer, sliding the 5th wheel 2" can mean having 4,500kg on my steers, or 6,000kg. Which I move ahead to get the max on my steer, and lighten up the drives to around 23,000kg each. Having the gooseneck behind the rear axle will mean you will likely never use up 75% of your steer axle gawr before going over weight on the rear axle. Likely, you wont be able to max your GVWR out on these trucks without being over in the back. I am sure some owners will report soon, I don't have a new T1 HD yet.