Trans Temp always HOT

Hey everyone, 

I’m new to the forum. To start out, I have a 2014 Silverado 1500 5.3 with 65k miles. I’m on 33x12.50 tires and factory gearing(which I believe is 3.42 or 3.24, something like that). I’ve noticed my transmission temp gets hot all the time without towing or driving like an idiot. I’m running around 194-199 driving 80 on the flat interstate with ambient temperature around 60-65°.  The trans is also starting to develop a small flare between 2-3 and 3-4. My local shop said the trans is starting to fail and it didn’t have any codes. I wanted a second opinion so I took it to a reputable transmission shop in town. He told me it was the torque converter starting to fail and that I should replace it and be good to go. He said he has seen this problem before on the 6L80’s and it will fix it. I just figured I’d ask y’all before I pay $1000 to have the converter replaced. Thanks!

I am no expert but those temps are 'normal' for these transmissions.  This is why many of us do the transmission thermostat delete mod. After I did this, my temps never get that hot anymore. 

I don't have any ideas on your shifting issues. All I'd suggest is to do a full transmission fluid change. 

Good luck!

its not normal!  correct temp should be around 120-160

if your getting flair, take to dealer and have them do the recalibration on the TCM,  there is also an ovehaul cleaning procedure that the GM technitian can perform which basically is a self cleaning procedure of the valvebody solenoids and and air/fluid purge of the Valve body curcuits  .. after this it will drive normal again.  but i would recommend driving the truck in M4, and M5 mode until its corrected

then after this , get the circle D torque converter with OEM stall speed

Edited by flyingfool

43 minutes ago, flyingfool said: