5.3l how many miles before rebuild?

14 hours ago, ullose272 said:

The older 5.3s, 99-06, would go forever. But as technology "improved" more things to go bad. AFM really hurt, between oil consumption and bad camshafts. Bad camshafts still happen.

2006-2013 had these design issues which were sorted out. Every motor gets a bad part now and again. The 2014/15 models already have enough years on them to have proved themselves pretty darn reliable. I know of a  few personally rounding 200 K plus without issue.  

2006-2013 had these design issues which were sorted out. Every motor gets a bad part now and again. The 2014/15 models already have enough years on them to have proved themselves pretty darn reliable. I know of a  few personally rounding 200 K plus without issue.  
I know of plenty of them that have had camshafts replaced, i know the issues with rhe AFM engines, i worked on a ton of them when i was a GM tech

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk

The LS and LT engines are incredibly durable due to their heavily robust design (especially the iron blocks). That being said, while you'll see many GM trucks with high mileage, many other major components were replaced/rebuilt. I'd say 320,000 miles with regular maintenance, 500k+ if you really baby it.

Edited by YourDailyBeast

1 hour ago, ullose272 said:

I know of plenty of them that have had camshafts replaced, i know the issues with rhe AFM engines, i worked on a ton of them when i was a GM tech

And what percentage exactly of all motors made in this series, the Ecotec3, have had this failure?

Give us a number. 

10 minutes ago, YourDailyBeast said: