Dash Camera Options

I’ve been debating a dash cam for a couple years and now regret not having one. Swapped cars with the wife yesterday and it turned out to be a bad deal for her. Probably not totaled but an uninsured driver ran a stop sign and clipped the front of me. Icing on the cake is that she didn’t even get ticketed because there was “no proof.”

So, what is the best dash cam that is reliable and around the $100 or less price point. I’m going to need three of them so cost is a slight factor, but want decent quality too. I know blackvue is a decent brand but all of the others seem like randome Chinese brands. Is there a specific manufacture to look for?

Picture of my wife’s freshly wrecked Honda for attention:

C34C17AB-CE27-49D3-9AC7-9F0816840B85.jpeg

Edited by damnthetorpedoes
  • Sad 1

First off,  I pay about 50 bucks a year for under/non insured driver protection. That's something you should consider.

Second, don't cheap out on those dash cams. They may have come a long way since, but the cheap ones I've tried in the past didn't survive a hot summer.

IMO Blackvue is the way to go. I'm sure that there are other cams out there with the same quality for a lower price. I'm just tired of being the guinea pig.

so long

j-ten-ner

• Like 2

4 hours ago, j-ten-ner said:

First off,  I pay about 50 bucks a year for under/non insured driver protection. That's something you should consider.

Second, don't cheap out on those dash cams. They may have come a long way since, but the cheap ones I've tried in the past didn't survive a hot summer.

IMO Blackvue is the way to go. I'm sure that there are other cams out there with the same quality for a lower price. I'm just tired of being the guinea pig.

so long

j-ten-ner

I definitely have UM coverage, but factoring in the impending hit to my premium plus my deductible it still stings when it’s someone else’s fault. 

I’m thinking about ordering this one to try: https://www.blackvue.com/product/dr590-1ch/