New guy, need help my friends!

Hello all, newbie here. I tried a search and got like a billion unrelated hits, I know this has been covered..

just bought a 2017 Silverado from dealership, 37,000 miles so warranty just went away. 4 days after purchase the lovely touchscreen goes black. Take it in, they have it for 3 hours and tell me the diagnostic machine is broken, so they can’t diagnose until next week when I bring it again unreal. Now I’m just livid with this place.

The screen still works, back up camera comes on. They tell me it’s 1 of 2 things, either the HMI or another part. They wanna charge me $200 if it’s 1 part and $700 if it’s the other, saying both need to be programmed at a cost of $300 to do so.

Has anyone fixed their own or gone with an aftermarket system? Thanks in advance

Throw an effing fit.  Are you telling me they didn’t warranty a new (used) truck for 1yr/12K miles?  The rip off used car dealer on the corner probably gives you 30 days or more (feel free to use that when you’re enlightening them). Seriously, don’t accept this shit.  Get loud.  Stay polite, but make sure everyone can hear you.  Speak to the owner.  Not the manager, the OWNER.

At the very least, they should cut you some serious slack.  Like their cost of the parts and no labor.  But even that is insulting.

Spend some time looking over your paperwork.  Did they say they inspected the truck?  If so, let them know how miserably they failed.  Is there any out clause?  Threaten to return it.  Are you positive there’s no warranty of any kind?

This ain’t over. 

• Like 1

7 minutes ago, GN2018 said:

Throw an effing fit.  Are you telling me they didn’t warranty a new (used) truck for 1yr/12K miles?  The rip off used car dealer on the corner probably gives you 30 days or more (feel free to use that when you’re enlightening them). Seriously, don’t accept this shit.  Get loud.  Stay polite, but make sure everyone can hear you.  Speak to the owner.  Not the manager, the OWNER.