'14-'18 Aftermarket Sound Systems - What ya got?

Hey everyone, 

I have literally been looking for weeks about upgrading my stock Bose system with something a little more 'upbeat' - pun intended. I've searched on here along with a few other forums and sites like Crutchfield, through Google, and even YouTube for what I'm looking for but to no avail. To start, while I feel I can understand and work on most aftermarket upgrades on our trucks, I am somewhat of a novice doing sound systems and a complete newbie to this generation system - the last system I did was on my 2001 Explorer like a decade ago and I loved it - Alpine Type S front speakers/Infinity Reference rear speakers, a single 10" kicker sub with some no name amp and an old double din Pioneer AVICD3 headunit. I'll be honest, I got lucky and everything sounded great BUT that was in a truck that also had a blown factory speaker before being replaced. It was an easy and clean install for me when I was 16 years old - since then I haven't touched another factory system. Where I get confused is all of the audio jargon that comes with searching for this stuff. Like differences between coaxial and component speakers, ohm and watt ratings, etc. I also ask myself 'how do I know what I'm putting in be better than what I've got now?' sort of thing.  So I figured I would create a post and see what others are doing! What I want to do is replace the factory speakers and add a sub only. 

Some stipulations I have: