2500HD 6.0 oil

Wont be too much longer before i'll have my first oil change in this new truck.

Im sure this has been asked and of course is highly debatable, BUT, since ive been running a dmax for the last 14 years using Rotella full synthetic oil, i'm out of the loop on oils for gassers so i'd like to ask what the general consensus is from you guys as to what oil/filter combo ya'll are running in these motors.

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Any full synthetic 5w30 will do. I ran Pennzoil Platinum (silver bottle but now I think its yellow bottle/silver label) in mine when I had it. Factory fill is AC Delco Dexos1 Gen2 5w30 full synthetic. Go with the AC Delco UPF-48R oil filter.

I am not sure what the proper break in procedure is for your rig. As a rule of thumb, using synthetic oil is a bad idea on a brand new engine. Does this apply to your specific motor? I don't know. Might be worth looking into though, as the break in procedure is paramount.

Myth, most engines come from factory with synthetic...

Sent from my SM-T350 using Tapatalk

Myth, most engines come from factory with synthetic...

Sent from my SM-T350 using Tapatalk

yep, older vehicles you were supposed to have at least XXXXXX number of miles before going to full syn, but as you stated, many of them come from the factory with full syn now.

Thanks for the replies guys, was just trying to get a general consensus on what ya'll were running.

I am not an expert on the topic, but I would imagine that most modern automotive engines are more resistant to improper break-in procedures versus small engines or the older outdated engine designs. I am under the impression that on most modern consumer level vehicles, the primary break in procedures take place prior to the end customer ever touching the keys. It would not surprise me in the least if a new car's owners manual specifies full synthetic from day one.