Installed ADD W1 Oil Catch Can

This is a write up on installing an ADD W1 oil catch can on a 2014 5.3 Denali with a few thousand miles.

gallery_42817_3078_7150.jpggallery_42817_3078_47620.png

I like the RX can but after some research, the ADD can had good reviews as well. so for $90 I ordered it from ebay (same cost on amazon and new egg), and here is what it did. I am not a pro, just a hobbyist.

I did buy 4 feet of Gates 3/8 Fuel Vapor/PVC hose to replace the one in the kit and plan on inserting Scotch Brite Stainless Steel Scouring pad (not fibrous SS wool as this can degrade and cause metal fibers to enter intake) inside the can's filter compartment as shown in the above pic.

gallery_42817_3078_37153.png

Here is a youtube video from RX which may help as well:

1) Here are pics of the package, flow diagram, and out of the box: Billet aluminum and sound construction. 2 Size ports. I chose to use the smaller one.

gallery_42817_3078_12020.jpg

gallery_42817_3078_7862.jpg

gallery_42817_3078_11041.jpg

2) I don't have a way to make a custom bracket so I used the grounding bolt. I could have used the inner fender well on drivers side where 2nd battery can go but I may plan on adding a second battery later on. I had to drill out the hole to 7/32 and that was just enough to screw the bracket down with the use of a washer and bolt I had in the shop. I wanted to use the lock washer but their was not enough room.

gallery_42817_3078_27062.jpggallery_42817_3078_35817.jpg

gallery_42817_3078_28159.jpg

3) the Can was against the wire harness so I undid the clip, gave a little extra wire, and set the wire on top of 1 of the clips. It helps to remove the clips from the firewall for working room. They just pull off of the bolt like prong. After mouse ting the can is tilted a little down so just gently pull it up to bend it flat/straight.

gallery_42817_3078_2859.jpg

gallery_42817_3078_5418.jpg

gallery_42817_3078_2396.jpg

gallery_42817_3078_615.jpg