payload and towing question

Sorry if this isn't the correct spot for questions regarding towing and payload capacity.

I have a 2015 silverado high country with 8 speed, 5.8ft bed. I want to put a truck camper on it soon and the camper Im looking at is at 1860 lbs dry weight. I see some info online stating the truck is at 1828 lb payload capacity. Would I be ok if I use airbags on the springs and torklift tiedowns? I am new to truck camper and towing world. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.Thanks.

28 minutes ago, NE18 said:

I would not put a truck camper in a 1500 and you don’t have enough payload. It’s amazing how quickly it adds up with just supplies and accessories.

Agreed.

Also OP: airbags, helpers, etc do not increase the payload of a truck, despite what many seem to believe. They only serve to stabilize a given load. If you've not purchased a slide in yet, perhaps consider the myriad of options available to you in pull behinds/ travel trailers.

• Like 1

1860 dry weight does not include batteries, propane,and any accessories. You will be way over a ton with your water and cargo. Not to mention you and your passengers.
These types of campers are made for 3/4 tons. Period.

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk

• Like 1

4 hours ago, 4motion said:

Sorry if this isn't the correct spot for questions regarding towing and payload capacity.

I have a 2015 silverado high country with 8 speed, 5.8ft bed. I want to put a truck camper on it soon and the camper Im looking at is at 1860 lbs dry weight. I see some info online stating the truck is at 1828 lb payload capacity. Would I be ok if I use airbags on the springs and torklift tiedowns? I am new to truck camper and towing world. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.Thanks.

No, don't do it.  Air bags, extra leafs, extended bump stops, etc., do not increase towing or payload. Rather, these products increase the ability for the truck to handle heavy loads.