What kind of MPG will a tuner get me?

I Just bought a 2019 Silverado 2500hd W/ 6.0 gas engine. I’d like to buy a tuner so I can get the power when needed. But mostly to save some money on gas with an economy tune. My truck is also my service truck for my company and I would like to keep cost down when possible. Anyone had any Luck with a certain tuner?

I've been tuning these GM vehicles for about 8-9 years now. Getting fuel mileage with a tune alone is very tough and the power gain on a stock engine with stock everything is not that much.

We are talking 15-20hp on a good day and that is running 93 octane fuel which costs way more money than 87 pump gas. So there goes the attempt at cost savings. If you could get 1 mpg combined with a tune alone I'd be surprised.

The majority of this stuff comes down to how you drive. You will get the best mileage with the proper air pressure in the tires and going 60-65mph on the freeway. As soon as push over 70-75mph your mileage is going to tank on something like this. Expect mid teens for mileage, roughly 15-17 if you are nice to it.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

6 minutes ago, CamGTP said:

I've been tuning these GM vehicles for about 8-9 years now. Getting fuel mileage with a tune alone is very tough and the power gain on a stock engine with stock everything is not that much.

We are talking 15-20hp on a good day and that is running 93 octane fuel which costs way more money than 87 pump gas. So there goes the attempt at cost savings. If you could get 1 mpg combined with a tune alone I'd be surprised.

The majority of this stuff comes down to how you drive. You will get the best mileage with the proper air pressure in the tires and going 60-65mph on the freeway. As soon as push over 70-75mph your mileage is going to tank on something like this. Expect mid teens for mileage, roughly 15-17 if you are nice to it.