Castrol Edge VS Amsoil OE

I'm no chemical engineer so I would like some input on these oils. I'm considering switching from Castrol Edge to Amsoil OE for our 19 Santa FE. It takes 5W20. Is the cost difference worth it? I just want a better grade oil than Castrol Edge. Don't want to go full 100% synthetic like Red Line. Can't justify the cost because I will still do 3 K OCI's with Amsoil OE.

I'm thinking of switching looking for a better all around oil with better wear protection and cold start protection. Because we live in a colder climate in the mountains of Colorado and our trips to town are short drives I was thinking of upgrading this cars oil. Our morning temps have been in the 20's and 30's and it will be below zero in the dead of winter with highs in the 10's -  20's. Looking for better wear protection because we pull grades everywhere we go.

I think Amsoil OE would be an upgrade over Castrol Edge but not sure how much of an upgrade. What's your opinions?

Well Amsoil will let your engine last twice as long as other brands oil. You will see improved mpg, higher HP and you will be able to run 50k between oil changes for just double the price of other name brand oil companies. 

Honestly, use the cheapest name brand synthetic oil, done. Don't over think it, especially at 3k oil change intervals, Amsoil or any other pyramid scheme oil would be a waste. 

Tyler

You can use store brand. Just find out what factory produces it. Last oil change I did was with Pennzoil Platinum as it was cheaper by a few cents on Amazon. Amazon is cheaper or on par with store but at least I don't have to drive to the store to pick it up lol