Key will not start, release steering wheel

Hello
My name is rich, I am an absolute newbie at troubleshooting like this. I have a 2007 GMC Sierra2000HD, it worked fine until yesterday night, someone pulled down hard enough on the shifting lever that the indicator will show as if it was in the R position.
The vehicle, will not start now, the key will not release the steering wheel or shifting lever.
The key was Not in the ignition when the damage occured.
It is my work truck and i have to have it fixed by tomorrow morning or the world stops spinning,
Please help me at least get started.
Thank You
Rich

how the hell did this happen?! Was someone that doesn't drive the truck often just screwing around?

From what it sounds like, damage was done to your shift linkage. It's a 2 piece cable and it would be hard to guess which end is damaged without seeing it. I broke the lower half of mine this year because of a rusty bolt on the trans. I'd go look at the side of the trans first. Find where the cable connects to the trans. It should have a ribbed rubber cover over it. Inside that cover there is a metal cable surrounded by a hard plastic shell and in my case, I broke the plastic shell and the cable was then useless. To tell if the lower cable is damaged, secure the truck and put the shifter into the lowest position. Look at the ribbed rubber casing and if it is bent and not just scrunched up, then the cable is toast. The lower cable is far easier to replace than the upper. If you inspect the lower cable under the truck and find no damage then it's somewhere between the column and the floor on the upper cable. I have no experience with that side of the cable. I can tell you though that the cable can be purchased at any gmc or chevy dealer for about $160. They sell both the upper and lower in one package and you can't get them separately.

Good luck man! I'll post up pictures of my cable working properly.