Cab access for Hamradio and Public safety antennas and power ?

Hello I am a NEW user.  

Does anyone here have any suggestions on a access holes to the cab for a 2018 Silverado LTZ  to run power and Antennas ?

I'm a Hamradio operator and  public safety ,so I have 2-3 radios to mount. This was much easier in my 2006 Silverado Z71 LT3. 

James A.

Where are you going to mount your radios and antennas?
What sort antenna mounts are you going to use?

You can run power cables from the battery to behind the seats via the cab vents between the cab and truck bed. That is also a good location to run antenna cable out unless you are going with an NMO mount in the roof.

Under the rear seat or behind the rear seat is a good spot to put radios as in inside the console if you don’t have the Bose sub.

KD5SFA

LJFD LT 51

• Thanks 1

I'll look at the cab vent ,I did not think about that.  I don't think I have the Bose sub. I'm going to mount the W3 Astro Spectra VHF P25 under the rear seat and the XPR4550 UHF DMR(remote head) under the rear seat.  I my use an XTVA for my 800,not sure yet on that.

I want to use a NMO roof mount ,but its a hard decision to drill the holes right now with this new truck :)  

Thanks ,

KJ4SZO 

2 hours ago, lonestardiver said:

If you have a tool box you can mount antenna’s on that.

What band is your P25 radio ?

I have a tonneau cover.  I may explore making a bracket to go under the edge of the cover.  I will have a short run of coax that way. 

The P25 W3 Astro spectra is VHF ,its the higher split VHF. I can still go out of band to ham band ok. It's a 599 Flash,if you know anything about Spectra's . This is the best Flashcode.